Snow Falls

Year of Premiere


For decades, Ryuichi Sakamoto has had a unique impact in Japan and around the world as a composer, musician, film actor and peace activist. Setting text from a haunting poem of the same title by Kiyoko Nagase, Sakamoto’s chamber work Snow Falls draws on melodies from his score for the 2015 film “Nagasaki: Memories of My Son,” in which an aging mother is visited by the ghost of the son she lost in the atomic bombing. Alongside a shimmering violin and piano landscape, Nagase's poetry is delivered both in the original Japanese and in an English translation by Japan’s Empress Michiko, who has long been an admirer of the poet.



World premiere performance:
Music of Remembrance Fall Concert: Snow Falls
November 5, 2017
Illsley Ball Nordstrom Recital Hall at Benaroya Hall, Seattle


Snow Falls world premiere
"Snow Falls" World Premiere, November 5, 2017, Benaroya Hall - Takumi Taguchi, violin; Mina Miller, piano; Naho Shioya, narrator